Philip Johnson’s Brick House, located on the grounds of the Glass House, will soon be reopened after 15 years. The site’s $1.8 million restoration is almost complete and will coincide with the Glass House’s 75th anniversary. The Brick House, aka the “Guest House,” was designed to pair with the Glass House as a single composition and contains the mechanical equipment for both buildings. It closed in 2008 after years of continuous damage from water infiltration.
The Brick House was completed in 1949 shortly before the Glass House, and it was used as a guest house and retreat by Philip Johnson and his partner David Whitney. It is an integral and central piece of the 49-acre property and its restoration will be a major upgrade for the site’s interpretation and programming centering around 20th-century architecture and LGBTQ cultural heritage.
The restoration team includes National Trust Graham Gund Architect Mark Stoner, AIA, general contractor Hobbs, Inc., Landtech Consultants (Civil Engineering), Altieri Sebor Wieber (MEP Engineering), and RSE Associates (Structural Engineering). Conservation studies and surveys were completed by Li – Saltzman Architects, PC in 2010.
For more about the design history and restoration plan of the Brick House, read the press release. The preservation of this site has been long anticipated and visitors will be able to enjoy a more complete experience with conservation of the building’s artwork, furniture, and books.
The Glass House opens for tours on April 15. Tickets for the 2024 season can be booked now.