News April 2024

Ritika Jharia joins New York Tri-State chapter board

April 28, 2024

DOCOMOMO US/New York Tri-State has an 11-member Board of Directors that manages all of the organization’s activities and initiatives. At its March 13, 2024 meeting the board was pleased to elect Ritika Jharia as its newest member.

Ritika Jharia is a preservation architect from India with over a decade of professional practice in conserving 19th-century and 20th-century historic buildings and has worked in public, private, and nonprofit sectors. With her experience working on post-independence Modern buildings in India, Ritika is particularly interested in the material conservation of reinforced concrete and reinforced brickwork. Her research focuses on the global understanding of modern heritage, their contribution to the cross-cultural interchange of human values, Louis Kahn’s work, and developing objective preservation strategies for safeguarding such properties. With the demolition of New Delhi’s Hall of Nations in 2017, she began volunteering with ICOMOS India and other nonprofits to work on outreach and awareness for protecting modern heritage and assisting with heritage at-risk legal petitions. Her first heritage alert was published in the ICOMOS Heritage at Risk World Report 2016-2019 on Monuments and Sites in Danger in 2020 for the case of World Heritage Site – Victorian Gothic and Art Deco Ensembles of Mumbai. She is a recipient of the 2022 Summer Adolf Placzek Fellowship with the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission. Ritika received an M.A. in Historic Preservation Planning from Cornell University.

The Board would again like to acknowledge John Morris Dixon, FAIA, who served on the board for more than two decades before stepping down last June. John is our first Director Emeriti.

The continuing core of board members—with anywhere from two to 20 years of DOCOMOMO leadership under their belts—includes: John Arbuckle, Kyle Johnson, Sean Khorsandi, Melanie Macchio, Leslie Monsky, Kathleen Randall, Nina Rappaport, Bill Ryall, Frampton Tolbert and D’juro Villaran-Rokovich. Read Board bios.